Nannaya’s successors have left numerous works behind them. Among the poets
of the earlier period (circa 1000-1450 a.d.) whose poems are catalogued in the following
pages are Tikkana, Erra Pregada, Rauga-nathudu, Bhaskarudu, Ketana, and indeed nearly
all the most brilliant writers who have survived. An Augustan age may be said to begin
in the middle of the 15th century, under the patronage of Krishna-deva Raya of Vijaya-
nagar. From that date the number of poets and writers on various subjects began to
increase, and is still increasing, with notable rapidity.LinguisHc Survey of India, vol. iv., p. 577.


The URI to TrackBack this entry is:

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: